A haven for marine life

The introduction of Marine Sanctuary Zones on Rottnest Island has further protected marine life and areas of significance.

Rottnest wildlife

Marine Sanctuary Zones exist on Rottnest Island to protect the fish breeding areas, coral species and areas of significance.

Rottnest Island has five Marine Sanctuary Zones to help conserve the various features of Rottnest Island’s unique marine environment.

These areas are primarily ‘no take’ zones, however some exemption areas apply.

The five Zones were established in July 2007 with the implementation of the Rottnest Island Marine Management Strategy. Each Zone is designated for separate reasons. They include the;

- Kingston Sanctuary Zone (Thomson Bay) to protect the 4 ship wrecks that lie within the area including the Gem, Janet, Denton Holme and Macedon, all wrecked in the late 1800’s.

- Parker Point Zone to protect the pocillopora coral reef.

- Green Island Zone as it is an important habitat for male Australian Sea Lions.

- Armstrong Bay Zone to protect the important sea grass meadows. This area is home to 9 species of sea grass and is the second most diverse area for sea grasses in the world.

- West End Demersal Zone established to protect bottom living species such as the Western Rock Lobster and Dhufish which are found in this area.

boats in the bay Rottnest Island

Take nothing but photos and leave nothing but footprints.

Fishing is an exception to this principle; however the Department of Fisheries rules and regulations, plus some other specific rules apply, including the existence of 5 marine sanctuary zones at key locations around the Island.